You Can’t ‘Wait’ For Success. It Won’t Come.

Here’s why some people will never truly make money.

Oje Ojeaga
3 min readApr 11, 2024
Image made with Midjourney.

One of the most damaging things you can tell a passive person is “all good things come to those who wait.”

That’s a death sentence. How do I know? Because that used to be me.

I was the chill guy. The go-with-the-vibes guy. I didn’t have big plans, but hell yeah I wanted to be successful. I showed up everyday at life, asked the next person next to me what we were supposed to be doing and I just believed that one day, my turn would come.

We’re mostly deeply religious, us Nigerians. Big on faith and miracles and mountains moving for our cause. To be honest, I believe in all of that, too.

But I also know life is built on some basic fundamentals. And those fundamentals never change.

Here’s one of them.

Imagine there’s this fertile piece of land under the burning hot sun (kind of like what we’re getting in Lagos right now.) You and a bunch of your friends are walking and you stumble on acres and acres of this land. Just sitting right there in the middle of all this bush.

A few of you guys talk about how land in these parts is so fertile, that anyone who cultivates will likely make a pretty good harvest. You all…

--

--

Oje Ojeaga

Founder and CEO of Up In The Sky NG/UK. Reluctant writer. Enthusiastic creative.